Kusina sa Plaza – Casa De Don Emilio

It was Maundy Thursday when we visited Boac and the first thing we did was to… eat! Haha of course Filipinos loves to eat. Don’t we?

This is Kusina sa Plaza, the home for traditional/authentic Marinduque cuisine. They also have the Café on the corner and a fine dining restaurant on the second floor called Casa De Don Emilio.

Kusina Sa Plaza - ChiaChinR

The place (first floor) was fully occupied when we arrived, so we decided to dine at Casa De Don Emilio. With fewer guests and classy ambiance the dining experience was relaxing. Although fine dining, the costs of their food are not pricey compared to the fine dining restaurants in Manila. Literally budget friendly at its finest!

My initial reaction when I stepped inside Casa De Don Emilio was… wow! Once again I felt like I time traveled back to the Spanish-era. Well.. Actually this is one of my favorite thing when travelling, the feeling of as if I own a time machine.

What I found distinctive about this restaurant are the titles of their menus. They have “Mga Putahe Ni Antonio” that offers yummy dishes from vegetable, seafood, beef, chicken and pork. “Mga Paborito ni Totoy at Neneng”, “Espesyal na handa ni Don Emilio” where the house specialties are listed, “Minatamis ni Aling Sayong” for desserts and beverages, and “Merienda Ni Manang Nena” for those who want to have snacks.

We ordered ulang-ulang, beef broccoli, yangchow rice, and penne seafood marinara. The food was fine. It was delicious. I loved almost everything we ordered but what I would recommend for you to try is the ulang-ulang, a soup topped with coconut meat and shrimp.

Did I boost your appetite? Great I intended to! haha

My next post would be about gallivanting around Boac.

xoxo Chia!

One thought on “Kusina sa Plaza – Casa De Don Emilio

Appreciate your comments

